Teacher of the Year 

The Teacher Excellence Award is one of the highest honors given to Technology and Engineering Education classroom teachers and is presented in recognition of their outstanding contributions to the profession and their students. The Teacher Excellence Award provides public recognition at the local, regional, state and international levels. On the state level, a VTEEA special recognition and awards dinner is provided during the VTEEA Annual Summer Conference. During the ITEEA annual conference, the honoree is formally presented an internationally engraved plaque and other awards. Download the Teacher of the Year Application here.

Past Award Winners 

2016 – Kelley Davis, Stanley Elementary School, Page County
2015 – Winslow Hobbie, Woolridge Elementary School, Chesterfield County

2014 – Megan Martin, Henderson Elementary School, Prince William County
2013 – Joan Harper-Neely, Cooper Elementary School, Hampton City
2012 – Susan Nagel, Clover Hill Elementary School
2011 – Elizabeth Kautz, Rivers Edge Elementary School
2010 – Elizabeth Kirk, Chesterfield County Public Schools
2009 – Cindy Jones, Clover Hill Elementary School
2008 – Martha Newsom Smith, J. B. Watkins Elementary School
2007 – Mary Hurst, Cooper Elementary School
2006 – Janis Churchill, McGaheysville Elementary School
2005 – Bonnie B. Berry, Ottobine Elementary School
2004 – Donna L. Smith, Richmond City Public Schools
2003 – Claudette Humble, Cooper Elementary School
2002 – Linda Davis, Kiln Creek Elementary School
2001 – Joyce Herbin, G.L.H. Johnson Elementary School
2000 – John Bennett, Mary Munford Elementary School
1999 – Patti Fazzi, Cooper Elementary School
1998 – Linda Harpine, Ottobine Elementary School
1997 – Deborah Ballard, Ottobine Elementary School
1996 – Cathy Ney, Margaret Beeks Elementary School
1995 – Cindy Etchison, Emerick Elementary School

2017 – Joyce Matthews, Braddock Elementary School, Fairfax County